# **OKLAHOMA COUNTY**

Oklahoma County Office Building 320 Robert S Kerr Ave, Oklahoma City, OK 73102



# Detention Center Action Committee Meeting Minutes

Monday, April 5, 2021

1:00 PM

Frances Ekwerekwu - Chairman - will appear via video conference Sue Ann Arnall - Vice-Chairman - will appear via video conference Ben Brown - Member - will appear via video conference

Citizens participation sign up: PublicComment@OklahomaCounty.org
Webex: https://oklahomacounty.webex.com/meet/publicmeetings
1-408-418-9388 United States Toll Access code: 963 595 547
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCz\_5jEcl6kV8f6Y71exwfJA

#### Call To Order

NOTICE: One or more members of this meeting will be participating by video or teleconference. Should audio or video capabilities be lost during the meeting, efforts to restore connections will be attempted for a maximum of thirty (30) minutes. If connectivity is unable to be restored, the meeting will reconvene at a date, time, and place certain determined by the Board.

#### Roll Call

**Present:** 3 - Frances Ekwerekwu, Sue Ann Arnall and Ben Brown

Notice of the meeting was properly posted Wednesday, March 31, 2021.

1. Discussion and possible action to set date, time, and place meeting will reconvene in the event technical difficulties arise during the course of this meeting and cannot be corrected within a maximum of thirty (30) minutes.

Reconvene on April 6, 2021 at 1:00 p.m.

## **Approval of Minutes**

**2.** Discussion and possible action to approve meeting minutes of March 1, 2021.

Arnall moved, Brown seconded, to approve. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 3 - Ekwerekwu, Arnall and Brown

### **Departmental Items**

**3.** Committee approval of slate of proposed committee members:

Sam Wargin

John Budd

Natasha Broussard

**Aaron Cosar** 

Sara Bana

Adriana Laws

**Chief Brandon Clabes** 

Chief Todd Gibson

Senator Dr. George Young

Timothy Tardibono

Ryan Gentzler

Ryan Haynie

Nicole McAfee

Chuck Loughlin

Pastor Jon Middendorf

Brown moved to approve Broussard, Cosar, Clabes, Gibson, Young, Tardibono as proposed members. The motion failed for lack of second.

Arnall moved, Ekwerekwu seconded, to approve all proposed members. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 2 - Ekwerekwu and Arnall

**No:** 1 - Brown

Public Comment: Christopher Johnston and Jess Eddy were called to speak.

**4.** Introductions of committee members to entire body.

Public Comment: Christopher Johnston and Jess Eddy were called to speak.

**5.** Presentation of committee purpose and shared goals by Chair Ekwerekwu.

Public Comment: Christopher Johnston and Jess Eddy were called to speak.

**6.** Discussion of 75 and 180-day goal statements with OCDC representative.

Public Comment: Christopher Johnston and Jess Eddy were called to speak.

**7.** Discussion of OCDC population reduction.

Public Comment: Christopher Johnston and Jess Eddy were called to speak.

**8.** Discussion of classification of OCDC detainees.

Public Comment: Christopher Johnston and Jess Eddy were called to speak.

**9.** Discussion of OCDC Annex proposal.

Public Comment: Christopher Johnston and Jess Eddy were called to speak.

Public Comment: Christopher Johnston and Jess Eddy were called to speak.

**No Board Comments** 

**Adjourn** 

Arnall moved, Ekwerekwu seconded, to adjourn. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ave: 2 - Ekwerekwu and Arnall

Absent: 1 - Brown

| DETENTION CENTER ACTION COMMITTEE OKLAHOMA COUNTY, OKLAHOMA    |
|--|
| Frances Ekwerekwu - Chairman<br>Sue Ann Arnall - Vice-Chairman |
| ATTEST:  |
|  |
| David B. Hooten  |